Acquisitions 2016

The Donation Hays

tableau
Edouard VuillardYoung Girls Walking© Photographie John Schweikert
In October 2016, Marlene and Spencer Hays confirmed the donation to the Musée d’Orsay, with reserve of usufruct, of their collection, some 600 pieces from the second half of the nineteenth century.
Exceptional by its size as well as by its consistency, this is the most important donation received by a French museum from abroad since 1945.

This donation will become effective in stages, the first comprised of 187 pieces of art, including 69 by Nabi artists. This first ensemble corresponds to the paintings presented during Spring 2013 in the Musée d’Orsay as part of the exhibition "A Passion for France. The Marlene and Spencer Hays Collection".

 

The Donation Zeïneb and Jean-Pierre Marcie-Rivière

Edouard VuillardGirl © Musée d'Orsay, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Patrice Schmidt
In 2016, the Musée d’Orsay presented, for the first time within its walls, the entire donation by Zeineb and Jean-Pierre Marcie-Rivière as agreed in 2010, the usufruct on which ended with the death of Jean-Pierre Marcie-Rivière on 6 January 2016.
This generous act marks a major event in the history of French public collections

The donation includes 25 paintings and 94 drawings by Bonnard; and 24 paintings, 3 pastels and 2 drawings by Vuillard. Begun in the 1960s by André Levy-Despas, Zeineb Kebaïli’s first husband, the collection has been enriched over more than forty years by Zeineb and Jean-Pierre Marcie-Rivière.
It expresses a tendency towards intimate subjects and mysterious compositions, even hermetic and caricatural at times. Musical evenings, unposed portraits, interiors with figures and urban scenes testify to the great similarities between Bonnard and Vuillard in the Nabi period.
Paintings from the two painters’ later years complement this set of works produced in the 1890s.

Some of the recent acquisitions

To top

Enlarge font size Reduce font size Tip a friend Print
Facebook
Google+DailymotionYouTubeTwitter

Acquisitions 2016

La donation Hays

tableau
Edouard VuillardFillettes se promenant© Photographie John Schweikert
En octobre 2016, Marlene et Spencer Hays, ont confirmé la donation sous réserve d'usufruit de leur collection composée d'environ 600 oeuvres de la seconde moitié du XIXe siècle et de la première moitié du XXe siècle au musée d'Orsay.
Cette donation exceptionnelle par sa taille et sa cohérence est la plus importante que les musées français aient reçue d'un donateur étranger depuis 1945.

Elle s'effectuera en plusieurs étapes, dont la première porte sur 187 oeuvres, dont 69 oeuvres nabies. Cet ensemble initial correspond aux toiles présentées au printemps 2013 au musée d'Orsay dans le cadre de l'exposition "Une passion française".

 

 

La donation Zeïneb et Jean-Pierre Marcie-Rivière

Edouard VuillardJeune fille© Musée d'Orsay, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Patrice Schmidt
En 2016, le musée d'Orsay a présenté pour la première fois dans ses murs l'ensemble de la donation de Zeineb et Jean-Pierre Marcie-Rivière consentie au cours de l'année 2010 et dont l'usufruit est tombé avec la disparition de Jean-Pierre Marcie-Rivière, le 6 janvier 2016.
Cette libéralité constitue un événement majeur dans l'histoire des collections publiques françaises.

La donation comprend 25 tableaux et 94 dessins de Bonnard ; 24 tableaux, 3 pastels et 2 dessins de Vuillard. Commencée dans les années 1960 par André Levy-Despas, le premier mari de Zeineb Kebaïli, la collection a été poursuivie pendant plus de quarante ans par Zeineb et Jean-Pierre Marcie-Rivière.
Elle exprime une sensibilité aux sujets intimes et aux compositions mystérieuses parfois jusqu'à l'hermétisme ou la caricature. Soirées musicales, portraits saisis sur le vif, intérieurs avec personnages, scènes urbaines, témoignent des correspondances étroites entre Bonnard et Vuillard au temps des Nabis.
Des tableaux de la maturité des deux artistes complètent cet ensemble d'oeuvres créées dans les années 1890.

 

Quelques acquisitions récentes



Haut de la page

Augmenter la taille du texte Réduire la taille du texte Envoyer à un ami Imprimer
Facebook
Google+DailymotionYouTubeTwitter