Musée d'Orsay: Cosmopolitan Paris

Cosmopolitan Paris


The Groupe des Six on the Eiffel Tower© Archives de la Fondation Erik Satie - photo Isabey
The artistic proliferation in the Paris of the 1920s is at the centre of this cycle. Parisians by adoption or Parisians through nostalgia, from Gershwin to Stravinsky, on the fringes of the Groupe des Six, it was the multiplicity of styles and exchanges between musicians and other artists which characterised this era. Through well-known works and those of great rarity, this prolific period deserves to be rediscovered.

5 March - 28 May 2009
Musée d'Orsay

auditorium level -2

Tedi Papavrami, violon
Philippe Bianconi, piano
Igor Stravinski
Divertimento, for violin and piano
George Gerschwin
Short Story
Trois préludes, for violin and piano
Trois mélodies de Porgy and Bess :
It ain't necessarily so
Bess you is my woman now

(transcriptions by Jascha Heifetz)
Maurice Ravel
Sonata for violin and piano in G major
Darius Milhaud
Le boeuf sur le toit, for violin and piano

Thu 5 March 2009 - 20h00
Musée d'Orsay

auditorium level -2

Principal musicians of the Orchestre de Paris
Valérie Schaeffer
, piano
Richard Strauss / Franz Hasenhörl
Till Eulenspiegel, Einmal anders! op. 28, for violin, double bass, clarinet, horn and bassoon
Maurice Emmanuel
Trio sonata op. 11, for flute, clarinet and piano
Hanns Eisler
Divertimento for wind quintet, op. 4
Albert Roussel
Divertissement op. 6, for flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn and piano
Duet for bassoon and double bass

Paul Hindemith
Kleine Kammermusik op. 24 n° 2, for wind quintet
André Caplet
Suite persane for two flutes, two oboes, two clarinets, two bassoons, two horns  

Sat 4 April 2009 - 20h00
Musée d'Orsay

auditorium level -2

Xavier Phillips, cello
Jean-Marc Phillips-Varjabédian, violon
Romain Guyot, clarinet
Emmanuel Strosser, piano
Maurice Ravel
Sonata for violin and cello in C major
Béla Bartók
Contrasts for clarinet, violin and piano Sz. 111
Max Bruch
Huit pièces for clarinet, cello and piano, op. 83 (extracts)
Bohuslav Martinů
Revue de cuisine H. 161

Thu 9 April 2009 - 20h00
Musée d'Orsay

auditorium level -2

Soloists of the Ensemble intercontemporain
Michaël Jarrell
Assonance IV b for horn, world première
Marco Stroppa
Gla-dya, études sur les rayonnements jumeaux
Martin Matalon
Traces III for solo horn
(version without electronic accompaniment)
Fuminori Tanada
Quartet with flute
Edgar Varèse
Densité 21,5 for flute
Georges Aperghis
Rash for violin and viola
Emmanuel Nunes
Versus II for euphonium and cello

Thu 28 May 2009 - 20h00
Musée d'Orsay

auditorium level -2

Enlarge font size Reduce font size Print