Musée d'Orsay: The World of Claude Debussy

The World of Claude Debussy

Subject to the sanitary measures in force for the opening of our facilities to the public

AnonymousClaude Debussy at the piano© Musée d'Orsay, dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Patrice Schmidt
"He aroused my curiosity at once by his peculiar views on music. He spoke of an orchestral score as if it were a picture. He seldom used technical words, but the dimmed and slightly worn elegance of his rather unusual vocabulary seemed to ring like old coins. I remember a parallel he drew between Beethoven's orchestration — which he visualized as a black-and-white formula resulting in an exquisite gradation of greys — and that of Wagner, a sort of many-colored "make-up" spread almost uniformly, in which, he said, he could no longer distinguish the tone of a violin from that of a trombone. (…) I ventured to say that some had tried in poetry, others in painting — I added with some trepidation one or two musicians — to shake off the ancient dust of tradition, and it had only resulted in their being treated as Symbolists or Impressionists — convenient terms for pouring scorn on one’s fellows. (…) Discipline must be sought in freedom, and not within the formulas of an outworn philosophy only fit for the feeble minded. Give ear to no man’s counsel but listen to the wind which tells us, as it passes, the history of the world."

Claude Debussy : Conversations with Mr. Croche, the Revue Blanche, 1 July 1901

With Something of Spain…

Lidija & Sanja Bizjak, pianos
Claude Debussy
Prélude pour l'après-midi d'un faune
En blanc et noir
Nocturne, transcription for two pianos by Maurice Ravel
Emmanuel Chabrier
Maurice Ravel
Rhapsodie espagnole
La Valse

Thu 16 February 2012 - 20h00
Musée d'Orsay

auditorium, level -2

Beyond the Rhine…I

Stéphanie d'Oustrac, mezzo soprano
Philippe Cassard, piano
François Chaplin, piano
Richard Wagner / Claude Debussy
Overture to The Flying Dutchman, transcription for two pianos
First Orchestral Suite
Claude Debussy
Cinq poèmes de Baudelaire
Valse Romantique
Première Suite d'Orchestre

Thu 29 March 2012 - 20h00
Musée d'Orsay

auditorium, level -2

Alice Ader, piano
Déodat de Séverac
Cerdaña, Les Muletiers devant le Christ de Llivia, extract
Maurice Ravel
Claude Debussy
Le Martyre de Saint Sébastien, transcription for piano by André Caplet
Etude pour les arpèges composées
Etude pour les degrés chromatiques
Préludes, Livre 1 : Danseuses de Delphes, Les collines d'Anacapri 
Préludes, Livre 2 : Feux d'artifice

Thu 5 April 2012 - 20h00
Musée d'Orsay

auditorium, level -2

Beyond the Rhine… II

Bruno Taddia, baritone
Andrea Corrazziari, piano
Georges Bizet
Trois mélodies, op. 21
Chanson du fou
Richard Wagner
The Two Grenadiers
Branders Lied
Lied der Mephistopheles I et II
Meine Ruh' ist hin
Friedrich Nietzsche
Jünge Fischerin
Arnold Schoenberg
Zwei Gesänge, op. 1
Claude Debussy
Chansons de France
Fêtes Galantes II
Trois Ballades de François Villon

Thu 12 April 2012 - 20h00
Musée d'Orsay

auditorium, level -2

Valeria Kafelnikov, harp
Satie Quartet
Vincent Lucas, flute
Claude Debussy
String quartet in G minor
Danses sacrée et profane, for harp and string quartet
Sonata no. 2 in F major for flute, viola and harp
André Caplet
Horror Story based on Edgar Allan Poe, for harp and string quartet
Deux Divertissements for harp

Thu 10 May 2012 - 20h00
Musée d'Orsay

auditorium, level -2

Special evening in the Nave

Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France
Fabien Gabel, conductor
Claude Debussy
Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune
La Mer, three symphonic sketches
Jean Sibelius
The Swan of Tuonela, extract from the Legend of Lemminkainen, op. 22
Sad Waltz, extract from Kuolema, op. 44

Tue 22 May 2012 - 20h30
Musée d'Orsay

Nave (central hall)

Enlarge font size Reduce font size Print