Musée d'Orsay: Allegro Barbaro

Allegro Barbaro

Subject to the sanitary measures in force for the opening of our facilities to the public

Evening Concerts

István CsókChest with Tulips© ADAGP, Paris © Szépművészeti Múzeum
The music of Béla Bartók has for many years been presented stripped of its most daring aspects, either in a stand against serialism, or because the young post war generation, influenced by the (belated) revelation of Webern’s work and by internationalism, rejected the relationship between traditional folk music and the expressionist legacy evident in Bluebeard’s Castle and The Wooden Prince.

To coincide with the exhibition Allegro Barbaro. Béla Bartók and Hungarian Modernity (15 October 2013 – 5 January 2014), the auditorium will present the complete Six String Quartets, performed by six ensembles each of a different generation (the Voce Quartet, Takács Quartet, Heath Quartet, Pražák Quartet, Psophos Quartet, Keller Quartet) in programmes bringing these masterpieces face to face with their successors, their contemporaries and their predecessors; a concert in the nave with his ballet The Wooden Prince (1914-1917) and, focusing on the period before the 1914 War, concerts of works for piano and for choir, as well as chamber music concerts.


14 November - 17 December 2013
Musée d'Orsay
Auditorium niveau -2

Quatuor Takács
Béla Bartók
Quatuor pour cordes, Sz 85, n° 3
Leoš Janáček
Quatuor n° 2 "Lettres intimes"
Bedřich Smetana
Quatuor n° 1 en mi mineur "De ma vie"

Thu 14 November 2013 - 20h00
Musée d'Orsay
Auditorium niveau -2

Quatuor Prážak
Béla Bartók
Quatuor pour cordes, Sz 114, n° 6
Ernö Dohnányi
Sérénade pour trio à cordes en do majeur, op. 10
Johannes Brahms
Quatuor pour cordes en si bémol majeur n° 3, op. 67 


Thu 28 November 2013 - 20h00
Musée d'Orsay
Auditorium niveau -2

Quatuor Keller
Zoltán Kodály
Quatuor pour cordes, op. 2, n° 1
György Ligeti
Quatuor pour cordes, n° 1
Béla Bartók
Duos pour deux violons, Sz 98
Quatuor pour cordes, Sz 91, n° 4 

Thu 12 December 2013 - 20h00
Musée d'Orsay
Auditorium niveau -2

Orchestre philharmonique de Radio France
Hélène Collerette
, violon
Tito Ceccherini, direction
Béla Bartók
Deux images, pour orchestre, Sz 46 op. 10
Tempo di Ciaconna, premier mouvement de la Sonate pour violon, Sz 117
Le Prince de Bois, suite d'orchestre Sz 60


Tue 17 December 2013 - 20h30
Musée d'Orsay
Allée centrale des sculptures

Enlarge font size Reduce font size Print